Archive for February, 2013

Munster Senior & Novice Road Championships 2013, Newtownshandrum, Co. Cork, Sun 10-Mar-2013, 1pm

Wednesday, February 27th, 2013

The Munster Senior & Novice Road Championships of 2013 take place on Sunday 10-Mar-2013 at 1pm in Newtownshandrum, Co. Cork. Race H.Q. for the day will be the Newtownshandrum GAA Grounds. This is a 4 Mile race over a popular course previously used in the Ballyhoura 5 Mile series. Club teams can have up to 12 athletes per team with 4 to score. Please note that this is an AAI event, so participants will be required to wear the club singlet. Novice and Senior athletes representing Cork will receive a county singlet on the day.

Click here for Course details

The Novice & Senior Roads is a combined event. Novice means exactly what it says on the tin; i.e. open to athletes of all levels of ability. Last year’s Munster Senior & Novice Roads was held in Inniscarra, Co. Cork. A total of 37 club members turned up at the Ballyanly GAA grounds to collect their race numbers, the biggest turnout for an AAI event in 2012. Our Novice Ladies A & B teams came home in first and second place, while the Novice Men were runner’s up. Once again, the club is targeting this event as an opportunity for BARRS athletes to pick up some of those prized blue-ribbon medals and a chance to put all those hard training sessions to good use.

Munster Senior & Novice Roads 2012

Athletes participating in these championships must be registered (paid-up) club members for 2013. Please text or email your entries to the competition secretary [] as soon as possible.

Change of venue for Training on Friday 22-Feb-2013

Thursday, February 21st, 2013

Please  note that the Mardyke venue is unavailable for training on Friday 22-Feb-2013. For one week only, the regular 6pm Friday session will be held at the Bishopstown C.I.T. Track instead.

St. Finbarr’s A.C. Awards Night, Killarney, 23-Feb-2013

Monday, February 18th, 2013

The annual St. Finbarr’s A.C. Club Awards Night takes place on Saturday the 23rd of February, 2013 at the Plaza Hotel in Killarney. Club members, family and friends are cordially invited to attend this gala evening. If  you would like to reserve a room, please contact the Plaza Hotel directly and book in under St. Finbarr’s A.C. To get everyone in the mood for the evening ahead, there’ll be a club run on the Saturday afternoon meeting up in the lobby of the Plaza Hotel at 3pm.

Once again, the St. Finbarr’s A.C. Club Awards are kindly sponsored by John Buckley Sports, Ireland’s No.1 Running Specialists. The recipients of this year’s awards are: 

  • Club Person of the Year – Trevor O’Neill
  • Athlete of the Year – Cathal O’Donovan
  • Most Improved Male – Allen Whitaker
  • Most Improved Female – Gillian Cotter
  • Performance of the Year – Cathal O’Connell (National Marathon)
  • Team of the Year – BARRS O/35 Ladies – Geraldine O’Shea, Esther Murphy and Mary Sweeney (National Marathon Winners)
  • Hall of Fame – Michael Dunne Snr.